OpenWeather API

Had some time to putz around with a prototype of doing a weather api w/ AresMush.

It’s nothing spectacular right now, it just returns the weather in my home town. But it’s a start. I am thinking
you can have different areas setup in the config, ie, Denver, Miami, etc, with their zip code, or GPS coordinates and it will fetch the live data.

Right now it will do an api call every time you type openweather. Thinking caching it on the hour, so the game cron will trigger it.

Let me know if you guys/gals have any ideas you like to see. I’m new to Ruby, and coding for ares, so any tips/advice is welcome.

Thanks

5 Likes

That’s cool. I know there have been a couple games interested in real-world weather, so I hope you’d consider submitting it as an official Ares Extra once it’s more fleshed out.

FYI Ares does have some rest connector stuff built in (RestConnector class in the engine), so you could potentially remove the dependency on the outside rest-client gem. That would make it easier for folks to plug it into their games without having to modify their Ares gemfile.

Very excited to get this in.

I’d def want:

• Linking an area to a zip code
  • Having that carry down to children areas if they don’t have their own zip set
  • A cron - I don’t care about every hour so much, but every few hours few sure. Dunno if there are performance implications with how often it calls.
  • Display in rooms and scenes like Ares weather does (probably requires a ‘default’ zip to catch temp rooms, too)

Thanks, I removed the rest-client dependency after peeping at the RestConnector class. Thank you for the suggestions! I’ll defiantly submitted to Extras once it’s gets hammered out.

1 Like

Ok. I’ll give this a shot. I have peek into how Ares weather currently works and make it similar. Just starting out with Ruby/Ares Coding. I’ll let ya’ll know when I have another milestone.

1 Like