Game idea, is it right for Ares

Hi all, I’m a biology professor with an interest in games and gamification. I have an idea for a story based teaching tool that is basically an engine for case studies. I want players (students) to be introduces to a case and then be able to order various tests or treatments, receive feedback as the case progresses, and then make more decisions. I would want these cases to occur semi-randomly (with harder cases as they progress). Certain patients should be able to return with complications or new problems so the student builds a relationship with them. I would also like there to be a simple, less story based “quizzing” option where the player can build up points by demonstrating proficiency in a subject, reading test results, etc. Players should be able to take notes about particular cases for when patients come back. Ideally, myself or someone with an “instructor” profile should be able to look at scores so it could be used in a classroom setting.

I have an idea for a frame narrative where they are working at an interdimensional hospital so they can be exposed to diseases from all over the place and different times (possibly even study “alien” diseases). I would like there to be subplots involving hospital politics, romance, interpersonal conflict, etc. so there would need to be some way to track progress in various storylines occurring simultaneously.

I haven’t really played a MUSH before (though I’ve known about them for a while). Is this the sort of thing that could be done using AresMUSH?

1 Like

Hi! That sounds like a very interesting project.

Could you do it with Ares? Possibly, but what you’re describing sounds like it would require an immense amount of custom coding.

The core ‘vehicle’ for interaction in Ares is just a narrative scene where players (as their characters) write a story cooperatively.