Developing FATE on Ares

Hey there!

So I’ve got the FATE plugin installed and I’m digging into its guts. (EDIT: I found the tutorials sooooo nevermind about the original question here. This will just be a placeholder for discussion I guess!)

OK SO!

I had been mucking my way through adding a command to the Fate plugin, and I keep getting an error:

I want a Powers command that works basically the same way Stunts does, so I basically duplicated Stunts and changed the relevant bits:

I added a powers attribute to the character model, I made a powers .yml config file, and also ham-fisted an entry in fate.rb?

I am a pretty rank beginner and I know I’m doing SOMETHING wrong, I’m just not sure what?

1 Like

If you look at the debug log (instructions here) there should be additional information about exactly which line of code the error is coming from. I’m going to hazard a guess that it’s line 9 of your PowersCmd file:

list = powers.sort_by { |s| s['name'] }

Assuming that’s the case, it means that something it’s trying to sort is nil. This can happen if:

1. The entire powers list is nil.
  2. The ‘name’ field for one of the powers is missing, which makes it default to nil.

When you created your fate powers.yml config file, is it putting the powers in the fate section? Does every power have a name? It should look like so:

fate:
    powers:
       - 
         name: Super Strength
         description: Whatever
         etc.
       -
         name: Super Speed
         description: Whatever
         etc.

Also be sure you did a load fate in-game to reload the fate code and configuration after messing with things on disk.

1 Like

Hmm! This is the error from the log:

2018-10-16 16:30:46 ERROR - Error in power: client=30 error=undefined method `sort_by' for nil:NilClass 
backtrace=["/home/ares/aresmush/plugins/fate/plugin/commands/powers_cmd.rb:9:in `handle'", 
"/home/ares/aresmush/engine/aresmush/plugin/command_handler.rb:25:in `on_command'",